See TechCrunch about silent unfriending and rejecting on Facebook:

"Likewise, if you accept someone as a friend, but then later un-friend them, they will not be notified (...) And if you don’t want to accept them, but don’t want them to be able to attempt to friend you again, Facebook recommends simply leaving their request pending in your queue."